Home page logo
Zenmap screenshot
Intro Reference Guide Book Install Guide
Download Changelog Zenmap GUI Docs
Bug Reports OS Detection Propaganda Related Projects
In the Movies In the News
Example Nmap output

Nmap Network Scanning

Output Options

-v[<level>], --verbose [<level>] (Increase or set verbosity level)

Increases the verbosity level, causing Nping to print more information during its execution. There are 9 levels of verbosity (-4 to 4). Every instance of -v increments the verbosity level by one (from its default value, level 0). Every instance of option -q decrements the verbosity level by one. Alternatively you can specify the level directly, as in -v3 or -v-1. These are the available levels:

Level -4

No output at all. In some circumstances you may not want Nping to produce any output (like when one of your work mates is watching over your shoulder). In that case level -4 can be useful because although you won't see any response packets, probes will still be sent.

Level -3

Like level -4 but displays fatal error messages so you can actually see if Nping is running or it failed due to some error.

Level -2

Like level -3 but also displays warnings and recoverable errors.

Level -1

Displays traditional run-time information (version, start time, statistics, etc.) but does not display sent or received packets.

Level 0

This is the default verbosity level. It behaves like level -1 but also displays sent and received packets and some other important information.

Level 1

Like level 0 but it displays detailed information about timing, flags, protocol details, etc.

Level 2

Like level 1 but displays very detailed information about sent and received packets and other interesting information.

Level 3

Like level 2 but also displays the raw hexadecimal dump of sent and received packets.

Level 4 and higher

Same as level 3.

-q[<level>], --reduce-verbosity [<level>] (Decrease verbosity level)

Decreases the verbosity level, causing Nping to print less information during its execution.

-d[<level>] (Increase or set debugging level)

When even verbose mode doesn't provide sufficient data for you, debugging is available to flood you with much more! As with the -v, debugging is enabled with a command-line flag -d and the debug level can be increased by specifying it multiple times. There are 7 debugging levels (0 to 6). Every instance of -d increments debugging level by one. Provide an argument to -d to set the level directly; for example -d4.

Debugging output is useful when you suspect a bug in Nping, or if you are simply confused as to what Nping is doing and why. As this feature is mostly intended for developers, debug lines aren't always self-explanatory. You may get something like

NSOCK (1.0000s) Callback: TIMER SUCCESS for EID 12; tcpconnect_event_handler(): Received callback of type TIMER with status SUCCESS

If you don't understand a line, your only recourses are to ignore it, look it up in the source code, or request help from the development list (nmap-dev). Some lines are self-explanatory, but the messages become more obscure as the debug level is increased. These are the available levels:

Level 0

Level 0. No debug information at all. This is the default level.

Level 1

In this level, only very important or high-level debug information will be printed.

Level 2

Like level 1 but also displays important or medium-level debug information

Level 3

Like level 2 but also displays regular and low-level debug information.

Level 4

Like level 3 but also displays messages only a real Nping freak would want to see.

Level 5

Like level 4 but it enables basic debug information related to external libraries like Nsock.

Level 6

Like level 5 but it enables full, very detailed, debug information related to external libraries like Nsock.

[ Nmap | Npcap | Sec Tools | Mailing Lists | Site News | About/Contact | Advertising | Privacy ]